• If you haven't done so already, please add a location to your profile. This helps when people are trying to assist you, suggest resources, etc. Thanks
  • We're having a little contest, running until 15th May. Please feel free to enter - see the thread in the "I Did That" section of the forum. Don't be shy, have a go!

Playing Chord Buttons Too Long - Mistakes Self-Taught Accordion Players Make.

breezybellows

Reaction score
I made the first episode a few months ago. In the last two days, I've received from feedback from a lot of you that you found the video useful. So I made the second episode today. Hopefully I'll make more.

Accordion left hand music usually notates the chords as quarter notes. If you don't have a teacher, it's easy to make the mistake of playing it as a full quarter note. As most method books, specify, the chord buttons should be played staccato. Failing to do so will drown out the right hand melody and will make the song sound muddy.

As a bonus, I also discuss how used to play the bass button (not the chord button) as long drones of slurred notes. I got rid of that style (thanks to my teacher) and I'm thankful that I did.

Hiya, quite interesting - I may be making several of those mistakes.

However there seems to be an issue with sound sync in video #2, definitely not lip syncing.
I had to check on video #1 to be certain it wasn't a voiceover.

Hiya, quite interesting - I may be making several of those mistakes.

However there seems to be an issue with sound sync in video #2, definitely not lip syncing.
I had to check on video #1 to be certain it wasn't a voiceover.
Glug, Is there a specific timestamp where you found the audio to not sync? I checked at random spots in the second video and it seems ok.

I just tried it on Firefox and Chrome, playing from Youtube directly.
I get bad sync from the start, possibly around 1 sec delay.
At the start the sound starts immediately and the videos starts after "Josh" in "Hi, this is Josh"