• If you haven't done so already, please add a location to your profile. This helps when people are trying to assist you, suggest resources, etc. Thanks
  • We're having a little contest, running until 15th May. Please feel free to enter - see the thread in the "I Did That" section of the forum. Don't be shy, have a go!

Playing near the ocean?

TahoeJoe

Reaction score
Hello!

I live in San Diego quite near the ocean, and I really want to start playing outside, such as at a park etc.. Currently my accordion has a smidge of reed rusting that I will be cleaning off when I re-wax and tune it, and I would like to delay future re-rusting as much as possible. I know that salt and water in sea spray carried by the wind is a no-no with accordions that you care about. Since I'm not experienced with this, how far from the coast should I be if I am playing outside to be safe? and what kinds of precautions can I take? And once I clean my reeds, is there any way to prevent rust besides using desiccants?
Joe

Welcome Joe!πŸ™‚
About 50 miles should be almost enough πŸ€”πŸ˜„
Check out how quickly the roof gutters rust out in your area for a hint. πŸ™‚
That is actually not a joke. When you buy stainless steel garden ornaments or lights, you get absolutely no warranty against rust with 50 miles from the sea. And accordion reeds are just plain steel, not stainless. I have seen horrible rust on reeds in accordions from people who lived by the sea.

I believe Castelfidardo Italy ( home of accordion making) is about 50 miles from the sea?

Regards,
RTW
Castelfidardo is maybe just 10 miles from the sea. Maybe even a bit less, especially when you go down the hill from the center of town (towards where several accordion and reed factories are...)

The map I checked seems to show Castelfidardo about 5 miles west of the Adriatic Sea. But what about the prevailing wind direction and the amount of salt thrown into the air by wind and wave action?