• If you haven't done so already, please add a location to your profile. This helps when people are trying to assist you, suggest resources, etc. Thanks
  • We're having a little contest, running until 15th May. Please feel free to enter - see the thread in the "I Did That" section of the forum. Don't be shy, have a go!

Advice on purchasing a quality new or gently used piano 60 or 72 bass accordion under $1000.

jensenvideo

Reaction score
I'm a beginner and want something to grow into- something fairly lightweight. What brand/model do you recommend? I've heard so many horror stories on this forum about manufacturers cheapening storied accordion brands with outsourcing. I currently own a Goldencup 72 bass which may not be worth repairing...

I suppose it depends on how you define "lightweight" - I have a 1980s Hohner 72 bass "Concerto", it's about 17 lbs and light enough when I'm indoors sat on a stool. But I also bought a 48 bass to get lighter for 'strolling' - my latest acquisition being a 12lb nearly-new Weltmeister 48 bass "Perle". But I'd certainly recommend the Concerto.

Welcome Jensen,

The conventional wisdom around here is that in the under $1000 range you are better off with a used accordion from a quality Italian company (than buying new). There are too many to mention here but include Piatanesi/Ottavianelli, Beltuna, Cooperfisa, etc etc. The issue is finding one in perfect playing condition, at the weight you need, which can be more important than brand.

Finding a lightweight accordion means sacrificing “something,” be it number of treble/bass keys, treble/bass voices, or features like cassotto. You have to decide which of these is important to you. It’s difficult to recommend without knowing more about your personal desires and the market that is available to you.

Good luck!

well shoot you are one of the lucky ones who can drive to a world class shop

dunno how you havn't noticed this before

you can make Petaluma easy in less than an hour