• If you haven't done so already, please add a location to your profile. This helps when people are trying to assist you, suggest resources, etc. Thanks
  • We're having a little contest, running until 15th May. Please feel free to enter - see the thread in the "I Did That" section of the forum. Don't be shy, have a go!

New to the accordion world - Need some advice for 1st instrument

Paraselenio

Reaction score
Dear accordionists,

This is with humility that I'm posting my 1st thread on your forum.

I'm very new to the accordion world and seek enlightenment.

Indeed, while I'm trying to get this damn solfege into my head, I'm caressing the idea of making the acquisition of my very first instrument.

Between those four subjects, which one would you choose and why ?

Note that I'm looking for a CBA, as it is more dextrous than an PA / offers more options for some crazy moves :

Bayan Jupiter Double Cassotto
(I wish ;))

Curtini Popolare Rare 5 Row Button

Vintage HOHNER Sirena IVB, 5 Rows Button

Startone Accordion B system

Thank you my elders for your precious wisdom & time on this sensitive matter that we all must face !

(apologies for the broken english, as it isn't my mother tongue)

Welcome Paraselenio! I am sorry I can’t answer your question but wish you luck with your purchase. Hopefully someone here can help….

Welcome Paraselenio! I can only give you some general suggestions. There are so many considerations involved in choosing a first accordion. Probably, someone starting out should buy a good, used student-grade instrument from a reputable accordion store that has checked it over and done any necessary repairs. One thing I noticed about your four suggested instruments is that the second choice (Curtini Popolare) is a C-system, and the others are B-system. Do you know which of the two CBA systems you want, and why?