• If you haven't done so already, please add a location to your profile. This helps when people are trying to assist you, suggest resources, etc. Thanks
  • We're having a little contest, running until 15th May. Please feel free to enter - see the thread in the "I Did That" section of the forum. Don't be shy, have a go!

Need help understanding MIDI expanders for Elmat accordion

Reaction score
Ok this is going to be full of silly questions, I'm not very good with the techy side of things...

I've recently purchased an old Hohner Electravox fitted with Elmat MIDI. I understand that I need to get an expander in order for it to make any sounds. Is this a separate piece of hardware, or can I download it?

As a guitar player I already have a few bits and bobs that take MIDI input (Focusrite Scarlett USB interface, Behringer Powerplay P1, Zoom multipedal) I've used VSTs on Cubase and Reaper when recording my electric drum kit too.

Can I somehow use what I've already got, or do I need to buy something new before my accordion arrives?

1. MIDI expanders are mostly hardware, but if you have enough money and have a strong computer, you can use software solutions, however these are generally more complex, harder to set up and not as portable.

2. The Hohnervox is an older acoustic/analog electronic accordion that without the accessory electronics won't make any factory sounds. Because of time most of these likely no longer are functional. We're looking at late 70's early 80's model.

3. You can try to google Elmat MIDI and see what you can find. A 30 second search and I found THIS site, which may be a good place for you to start your search. :)

The eBay listing you've linked to is actually what I've purchased! All the old electronics in the Electravox have been removed and replaced with the Elmat system, so it should be all ready to go, minus the expander.