• If you haven't done so already, please add a location to your profile. This helps when people are trying to assist you, suggest resources, etc. Thanks
  • We're having a little contest, running until 15th May. Please feel free to enter - see the thread in the "I Did That" section of the forum. Don't be shy, have a go!

Smaller vs larger instrument

Reaction score
The question is basically in the title: how did it feel to switch from a smaller to a larger instrument or vice versa, if you ever made such a move.
I do know that larger instruments are larger, so have more notes, and that smaller instruments are smaller, so tend to be lighter. I'd be more interested in aspects such as physical fit of the instrument or larger bellows (more air volume) that could make the larger instrument easier to handle despite the extra weight (or not).

I have limited experience but I find bigger ones easier to play. You can go much longer without needing to change bellows direction and can rest the accordion on your lap and let gravity do half the work. The trade off is they're much less convenient to travel with and it takes more effort to pick up etc.!

In my 60 years of playing I've had countless accordions through my hands, ranging from the very small 60 bass, 2 voice Brandoni in my members photo through to 140 bass, 5 voice instruments, with cassotto. I currently have 2, 3, 4 and 5 reeded accordions and enjoy playing all of them but I've had many many accordions that I didn't like for a variety of reasons. The little Brandoni is almost half the size and less than half the weight of my biggest accordion. I guess the bottom line is that all players are different and all accordions are different, even seemingly identical models, so it's a matter of finding an instrument that suits you and your situation.

IWU,
"...I do know that larger instruments are larger, so have more notes, and that smaller instruments are smaller, so tend to be lighter..."