• If you haven't done so already, please add a location to your profile. This helps when people are trying to assist you, suggest resources, etc. Thanks
  • We're having a little contest, running until 15th May. Please feel free to enter - see the thread in the "I Did That" section of the forum. Don't be shy, have a go!

Problem with Roland FR-3s

Big Squeezy Accordions

Site Supporter
Reaction score
I was recently given an old FR-3s. I'm an acoustic accordion technician and frankly never had a lot of interest in these, but I figure it'll come in handy for practicing late at night with headphones, and as a reference for various musette tunings. It seems to work pretty well, except that some of the lowest notes on the keyboard only begin sounding at very high bellows pressure. Does anyone know what could cause this, and if it is fixable?

Last edited:
Uh, wow? The keyboard has no mechanical connection/relation with the bellows. So it has to be either a human connection (you press the keys harder when pressing the bellows harder?) or an electronic connection (lower notes need slightly higher pressure but the pressure sensor is maladjusted and almost tops out before?).

Do you experience this both on push and pull? Have you done a factory reset yet?

Uh, wow? The keyboard has no mechanical connection/relation with the bellows. So it has to be either a human connection (you press the keys harder when pressing the bellows harder?) or an electronic connection (lower notes need slightly higher pressure but the pressure sensor is maladjusted and almost tops out before?).

Do you experience this both on push and pull? Have you done a factory reset yet?
Yes, on push and pull. Oddly, it's not uniform among the lower keys. So, for example, the lowest A will only sound at maximum bellows pressure, whereas the G below that sounds normally. I have not tried a factory reset. I will look up how to do that.