• If you haven't done so already, please add a location to your profile. This helps when people are trying to assist you, suggest resources, etc. Thanks

Roland Fr3xb problem

Pipemajor

Site Supporter
Reaction score
I have a Roland Fr3xb.
The other day I had been playing for about 20 minutes when the G4 button became silent. The tune I was playing at the time (Alpine Slopes) has multiple G triplets and it was only when I started playing this tune that the problem appeared. All the other notes worked fine. I tried selecting a different octave for the G4 button but none worked which would suggest it was a problem with the button itself.
After about 5 minutes the note the re-appeared and worked fine until I tried playing repeated Gs when it went again. This continued until I finally gave up and stopped playing.
I was unable to play it for the next couple of days but last night I tried again and started with "Alpine Slopes" and it worked properly I continued playing and again after about 20 minutes the G4 button fell silent, repeating the same results as last time, coming back after about 5 minutes then going again.
I haven't tried the midi out yet, so I can't totally rule out an electronic problem .
I would be grateful for any comments/advice from the experts here but I think I'm going to have to see if there is a Roland service centre near here.😢

you are correct to proceed with testing the G4 as a MIDI out event
the next time it happens, then you will know if it is a software glitch
of the internal sound module, or an intermittent physical/software problem
of the entire system

Thanks Ventura, I checked it using the Midi out and got the same problem although it now seems to be happening quicker, so I would think this would point to switch problem.

i do not know exactly the physical switching system used on the
button treble version, but the keyboard versions used the rubbery top-hat style
"switches" on the long circuitboard under the keys