• If you haven't done so already, please add a location to your profile. This helps when people are trying to assist you, suggest resources, etc. Thanks
  • We're having a little contest, running until 15th May. Please feel free to enter - see the thread in the "I Did That" section of the forum. Don't be shy, have a go!

New Poll. How many keys do you *actually* play in?

Tom

Been here for ages!
Site Supporter
Reaction score
So yeah, in looking over my songs, they are all in the first 4 keys (G, C, D, F or relative minor).

How about you, gentle forum accordionists?

Are you a remarkable jazzer playing in 18 or 20 keys, or a hobbyist playing in 2? And I don’t mean “how many keys *can* you play in, I mean how many keys do you *actually* play in on a regular basis? No judgement here, curiosity only….

I’m a hack hobbyist, but I participate in a couple of different jam bands.

Generally speaking…
  • The “string centric” groups that play Gypsy Jazz tend to favor the sharp keys of G, D, A, along with C, and F.
  • The “horn centric” groups that play mostly standards and jazz tend to favor the flat keys of Ab, Eb, Bb, F, as well as C and G.
I suspect that this is because the string players have open strings in the sharp keys and the horn players have to add 2 or 3 sharps to transpose to concert key. (Adding 3 sharps to concert Ab is probably easier for most than adding 3 sharps to A.)

Reactions: Tom
So yeah, in looking over my songs, they are all in the first 4 keys (G, C, D, F or relative minor).

How about you, gentle forum accordionists?

Are you a remarkable jazzer playing in 18 or 20 keys, or a hobbyist playing in 2? And I don’t mean “how many keys *can* you play in, I mean how many keys do you *actually* play in on a regular basis? No judgement here, curiosity only….

I have a song I wrote myself that's in Bb because of my vocal range, but otherwise I play in the same four keys as you - and not in F very often.