• If you haven't done so already, please add a location to your profile. This helps when people are trying to assist you, suggest resources, etc. Thanks
  • We're having a little contest, running until 15th May. Please feel free to enter - see the thread in the "I Did That" section of the forum. Don't be shy, have a go!

Poll: How long have you been playing the accordion?

Status
Not open for further replies.
I have put 2 plus but as a complete novice, only starting to try and read music as well as play when I retired.

Three years, though my wife says it feels like twenty. (we've only been together seventeen)

Started again in January of this year...pushing through Book Three of Palmer-Hughes. First started in the late 1950s in Pennsylvania, but took lessons only about two years or less then. I've enjoyed switching to the 4-3 fingering over the 3-2. Palmer-Hughes showed both in their early 1960s books, but my teacher back then started me on the 3-2.

I've been playing for 55years. Got the first piano box from my big bro for my 10th birthday. 26 piano keys and sounded like a strangled cat but I loved it. went on to 5 row chromatic c system at 21 and had a few lovely accordions since then. Do a bit of guitar. banjo, joanna and harmonica too

Not to worry - just send a corrected answer. :tup:

@Rhelsing It's been running for 4 years - I've brought up before that all the early answers are out of date... so it's pretty useless for the then short term players ... unless someone is moving the results along cumulatively, which they haven't said, so... I wouldn't worry - as Jim says, a post is probably more useful.

Ed

Thanks, just wanted to correct the entry Imade in error - but not a big thing either. I should have selected over 10 years but it looks like it can't be changed.

I have been playing accordion for 24 years, and loved every moment of it.

O.K. Maybe time to PM Knobby to update this Thread ??