• If you haven't done so already, please add a location to your profile. This helps when people are trying to assist you, suggest resources, etc. Thanks
  • We're having a little contest, running until 15th May. Please feel free to enter - see the thread in the "I Did That" section of the forum. Don't be shy, have a go!

'Modern' accordion teaching?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Soulsaver

Been here for ages!
Site Supporter
Reaction score
I was reading on a site the other day that listed some of the factors that ended the 'accordion golden era' in the early 1960s, and included 'Old fashioned teaching methods...'

Have the teaching methods changed? If so how?

Maybe the 'old fashioned' teaching methods were more disciplined and included set fingering patterns, lots of scale practice and steady progress through a whole library of graded tutor books , exams etc.

However I am sure that a great many players in the ''accordion golden era' were self taught and of course that included the most prolific & popular accordion recording artist ever Sir Jimmy Shand . Indeed Sir Jimmy is largely to blame for the popularity of the accordion being the reason many people took up the instrument ( and that includes me!)

So perhaps it wasn't the demise of old fashioned teaching methods but the lack of a popular role model that reduced the popularity of the box.????? discuss!

george

Dont think the teaching methods, be it modern or old fashioned teaching methods, have anything to do with the ending of the golden era of the accordion.

The change in music culture and taste, the upcoming of the folk guitar and electric guitar , and the rise of rock and roll music, Elvis , The Beatles, etc ended the era of the accordion.
The Italian makers in Castelfidardo have felt this directly in their sales numbers in that period.

http://www.nytimes.com/2011/07/02/business/global/02accordions.html?_r=0