• If you haven't done so already, please add a location to your profile. This helps when people are trying to assist you, suggest resources, etc. Thanks
  • We're having a little contest, running until 15th May. Please feel free to enter - see the thread in the "I Did That" section of the forum. Don't be shy, have a go!

Looking for a vintage 48 bass Piano accordion

Plinky

Reaction score
Hi, thank you for letting me join the forum. I'm new to the PA but have played the melodeon for several years.

I have a new Hohner 48 bass PA that I'm delighted with ,but being a vintage nut I would also like a vintage 48 bass PA

From my Hohner list , seems to be two options from the 50s/60s
Hohner student VM and the Concerto 1 ,but according to a couple of websites Hohner also made a LA Divina and also made instruments for the Bell Accordion company.

I'm getting some playing help and advice from a retired professional accordionist but he has a modern-ish 48 bass accordion and is rather sceptical of older instruments โ€œmoney pitsโ€LOL

I'm only interested in a 48 bass as having seen one played wonderfully it's more than enough buttons for me to contend with in my retirement and at around 5 kg is pretty comfortable with the old back.

I wondered if anyone knows anything about the LA Divina or any PA,s made by Hohner for the Bell Accordion company.

Thankyou for any information you may have

the guy who was Bell accordion was one of the best in the business..
he could build an accordion himself from scratch and did so many times
on his way up to creating Bell as a top notch company

the mere idea that he would ever even consider badging a Hohner
product under the Bell brandname is ridiculous

i could be wrong, and i have no definitive information one way or the
other.. just the obvious knowledge that the Internet is full of bullshit like this
and a deep respect for Aldo Mencaccini

this inference, in my opinion, is an insult to his reputation and legacy