• If you haven't done so already, please add a location to your profile. This helps when people are trying to assist you, suggest resources, etc. Thanks
  • We're having a little contest, running until 15th May. Please feel free to enter - see the thread in the "I Did That" section of the forum. Don't be shy, have a go!

Freebass accordion left hand position

pierrez

Reaction score
Hello forum,

I'm a total beginner at accordion. I have bought a small freebass accordion (like this model https://www.musik-center.de/fr/hohn...rJ_bNP5AGSV9gdswmG4bRF0bK2iVSOusaAs9bEALw_wcB)

As this accordion is a bit small I found it difficult to play in sitting position (I cannot fix a corner against my thigh) so I decided to play standing.

I tried to practice some basic scales on left hand, however I found that whenever I move my left hand up and down to reach the keys, I lose control of the bellow and it makes big noise. I don't know what would be the best technics for the left hand position / movement, and I found little resources on internet.. Would someone be kindly suggest how to move left hand without losing control of bellow ? Thanks !

Regards,
Pierre

I would like to precise that the loss of control happens when I try to move left hand while holding one button (because I want a legato)

For example I was doing C major scale 2323234 (move hand) 2, and it's particularly difficult to move hand while I was pressing with 4th finger. I don't know what would be the correct way to do that

Welcome Pierre!!!

1. Make sure your accordion straps are properly fit and adjusted. Tight enough so your accordion itself does not move much while pushing and pulling the bellows. There are youtube videos on how to adjust your straps.