• If you haven't done so already, please add a location to your profile. This helps when people are trying to assist you, suggest resources, etc. Thanks
  • We're having a little contest, running until 15th May. Please feel free to enter - see the thread in the "I Did That" section of the forum. Don't be shy, have a go!

Palmer/Hughes/Sedlon

Status
Not open for further replies.

KLR

Reaction score
Do people still learn the accordion from these books? Sounds that way, there's a big thread about accordion lessons but I couldn't quite suss out what goes on there - I'm entirely self-taught, spent all my money on musical instruments! :lol: But people mentioned learning from Sedlon books at some point. Most of the discussion seemed to be about the value of tutelage in the first place.

There's sort of a genre of accordion music - Clarinet Polka et al - I always thought that those tunes became widespread via tutors like those mentioned. If you're just starting I suppose tunes like those are a good way to acquire basic handiness with getting around the keyboards. It also might explain the public's association of the accordion with polkas.

I took a gander at those tomes on Google Books and they're hilariously out of date in ways - one has the Marine Hymn with a little cartoon of an F4 fighter jet, which I think went out of service in 1958. If it ain't broke don't fix it.

Well as someone who finished book 9 of the palmer-hughes series last year, I can tell you that people still do learn from these books.

I agree that the clip art is stupid and wrong in the series. The funniest one that comes to me is the "Entry of the Gladiators" clip art that shows a roman garb with lions and such. Since I didn't know the name of the song before I started with it, I found it extremely funny when I recognized the melody and realized that the person picking the clip art had no idea what the song was either. (Circus clowns would have been a better choice)