• If you haven't done so already, please add a location to your profile. This helps when people are trying to assist you, suggest resources, etc. Thanks
  • We're having a little contest, running until 15th May. Please feel free to enter - see the thread in the "I Did That" section of the forum. Don't be shy, have a go!

Leaking bellows - dare I ask … liquid rubber spray ?

bazzermn

Reaction score
So I managed to acquire a Hohner Amati IIIM on eBay which I knew was going to need major repairs. Although I have no experience I had nothing to lose and everything to learn as it was only a few hundred dollars. I have made some progress tuning it and replacing the valves etc
It doesnt sound too bad now. The issue I have is a leak and I just cannot find where it is coming from. I have replaced the bellows gaskets and waxed all the internal joins.
I presume it is from the bellows somewhere.
I am tempted to just get some clear liquid rubber spray (like Flex Seal) and spray the whole bellows with a light coat.
Any opinions welcome before I try!
Thanks!

should you risk doing spmething to catstrophically ruin the accordion
you have worked on so hard, or should you slow down and get some
local assistance

even if the only help you can get is a friend who chain smokes cigarettes

and who will patiently sit a room with you in the bright sunlight from a big window
and blow smoke at it while you work it so that the air currents can reveal
something you can point to and say.. Ohhhhhhhhhh

should you also spend more time studying old discussions about air leaks
and the many many many different kinds there are and what people did about them

i dunno, should you ?

Any opinions welcome before I try!
Thanks!
Just the old adage of, "Do no harm!"🙂
In this case, do nothing that can't be undone.
I think the usual procedure is to attach small, thin, flexible patches over identified holes from inside the bellows.🙂