• If you haven't done so already, please add a location to your profile. This helps when people are trying to assist you, suggest resources, etc. Thanks
  • We're having a little contest, running until 15th May. Please feel free to enter - see the thread in the "I Did That" section of the forum. Don't be shy, have a go!

Chinese Stella - value/quality?

Status
Not open for further replies.
B

bassgirl1

Hi,
I'm new to accordions, but having wanted to play for a while, finally bought one. Unfortunately, I bought (on ebay, yes, risky I know!) what was clearly advertised as a German Weltmeister Stella 48 bass, and when it arrived yesterday (and with the help of this forum) I have discovered it is clearly a Chinese Stella. I was deliberately avoiding Chinese ones, given their poor reputation.

I have contacted the seller to have a little moan about this (no reply), but was wondering what might be a reasonable price for this instrument if I agreed to keep it with a partial refund. Very little is the impression I am getting. I paid £155, which seemed fine for the genuine German model.

Nothing very wrong with it as far as I can tell, except one key changes tone depending on the direction of the bellows (?!). And the keyboard response seems pretty slow, and needs a bit of a mighty push on the bellows to get the notes out in general; but I've never played any other accordion so have nothing to compare with. I imagine this is just the way the Chinese models are.

Thanks!