• If you haven't done so already, please add a location to your profile. This helps when people are trying to assist you, suggest resources, etc. Thanks
  • We're having a little contest, running until 15th May. Please feel free to enter - see the thread in the "I Did That" section of the forum. Don't be shy, have a go!

Smaller vs larger instrument

I have limited experience but I find bigger ones easier to play. You can go much longer without needing to change bellows direction and can rest the accordion on your lap and let gravity do half the work. The trade off is they're much less convenient to travel with and it takes more effort to pick up etc.!
Spot on for me too. There's nothing more liberating than an instrument you can sling over your shoulder and take with you without any fuss. Bigger is easier to play but you'd think twice before jumping on the bus with it!

Spot on for me too. There's nothing more liberating than an instrument you can sling over your shoulder and take with you without any fuss. Bigger is easier to play but you'd think twice before jumping on the bus with it!
Hahaha.... Someone asked me the reasons I started learning Anglo concertina. My answer, "So that I can sit in the back seat of the car and drive my daughter (the driver) nuts. Can't do so with an accordion."
I also learn classical guitar. I'm currently traveling and have a silent guitar with me. It's perfect as a travel instrument: light-weighed, compact, and silent.

As others have said, it is all a matter of personal preference, and also what type of music you play. Do you need the range of a larger instrument? My four-decade journey with the accordion has been to progressively smaller instruments.