• If you haven't done so already, please add a location to your profile. This helps when people are trying to assist you, suggest resources, etc. Thanks
  • We're having a little contest, running until 15th May. Please feel free to enter - see the thread in the "I Did That" section of the forum. Don't be shy, have a go!

How much would you invest in having an accordion professionally "overhauled"?

EuroFolker

Reaction score
Let's say it's a non-professional model from a less known brand.

Still, it's a full size, Made in Italy accordion, it looks and feels great and sounds very pleasant -

minus the fact that it's out of tune here and there on the piano keyboard side.

The bass side sounds perfect to my ears, and the tuning app agrees.

The bellows may have a very minor air leak (or leaks) but I am not experienced enough to tell for sure.

I picked it up from the original owner (it's from the seventies) for $500. If I invest in an overhaul / tune up so it performs like new, I'd keep it forever.

(Starting a collection kind of thing).

In your esteemed opinion, (up to) what amount should I spend on servicing the accordion described above?

It is impossible to say without inspecting it how much it will cost. That being said it is helpful to know that the average 2 reed 120 bass student instrument sold for $325 to $550 in the 1950's ,adjusting for inflation makes that around $3000 -$5000 in todays dollars.
One of these basic student model instruments can take anywhere from 5 to 25 hrs (rough average) to get up to speed again. It seems like a lot but it is like trying to get a car to pass it's emissions test that has not been serviced since the 80's.
It will almost never cost anywhere near the cost of the instrument new, and there is often no modern equivelent of the instrument (4 reed Scandalli with a 17.5" keyboard!) and if same instrument was available it would probably cost several times the overhaul cost.