• If you haven't done so already, please add a location to your profile. This helps when people are trying to assist you, suggest resources, etc. Thanks
  • We're having a little contest, running until 15th May. Please feel free to enter - see the thread in the "I Did That" section of the forum. Don't be shy, have a go!

hello from Amsterdam

Status
Not open for further replies.

Marije

Reaction score
Hi all,
I'm a tap dancer from Amsterdam, and I've just rediscovered my love for accordion 1,5 year ago. I got my first accordion, an old excelsior, when I turned 18 (which I preferred over getting my drivers license...)

For years I played only occasionally, and knew only one song (la valse, by Les Negresses Vertes)
Now I'm studying different kinds of folk traditions (irish, klezmer/sephardic and balkan/east Europe) and enjoying very much. Also I've started to use it in small performances (I work in theatre).

I re-started on a venerable old Monarch, full lady size with very narrow keys, perfect for my hands. She is blond, with yellow sparkly keys :D  The sound is very beautiful, but a bit humble. Chamber quality..

Recently I got a good price on a beautiful new Serenellini Regina Gold 96 bass with cassotto, which at first was too big and heavy for me (injuries!) but after getting some amazing ergonomic tips from a professional player, I can manage and enjoy very much!

Then I have a hohner concerto 48 bass for parades etc. It is a cheap old one but immaculate inside and never repaired even, which my accordeon tuner was very amazed by. Actually, the sound is pretty great for outside!

Now finally I'm looking for light weight 72 bass for theatre performances where I need to move around.
It has to have a warm sound, 3 voices and enough projection to fill a large space with lots of people inside... hmmmm. :angel: 

ok, that's it for now, happy to have found this forum!

Hi Maije,