• If you haven't done so already, please add a location to your profile. This helps when people are trying to assist you, suggest resources, etc. Thanks
  • We're having a little contest, running until 15th May. Please feel free to enter - see the thread in the "I Did That" section of the forum. Don't be shy, have a go!

Does sheet music work for DBA?

RYLUNDO

Reaction score
I know this question sounds extremely dumb but I haven't found any answers online. I recently started note identification to learn how to read sheet music and when I tried to transfer what I learned to playing a simple song from a literal kindergarten-level piano sheet music book I couldn't replicate the song at all. I could have just messed up horribly because I am very new to accordion in general. I was given a chart showing each note that my accordion plays on the push-and-pull, my accordion is in the key of BbEbAb, I will try to attach the chart I was given. There are different note layouts for accordions of the same key so I was wondering if maybe I was just using the wrong notes. I don't really know, this whole process has been extremely confusing and frustrating to me.

Another method I heard about was Griffschrift. It seems really interesting and I would like to understand and try it but I have not really understood much of what I have read about it online. I believe the main website was called Volksmusikschule. One of the questions I had about Griffschrift was whether or not standing notes or gleichtons are used in it. My accordion does not have any. I would appreciate any sources that may help me understand Griffscrift. I know there is a lot in German but I can't find any videos covering Griffschrift in English. I hope these questions made sense.

Attachments

• BbEbAb Note Chart (2).pdf
    27.6 KB · Views: 12
Yes, sheet music applies to any instrument and it's good to learn it. What was your problem with playing it on your box?