• If you haven't done so already, please add a location to your profile. This helps when people are trying to assist you, suggest resources, etc. Thanks
  • We're having a little contest, running until 15th May. Please feel free to enter - see the thread in the "I Did That" section of the forum. Don't be shy, have a go!

What year is this vintage Paolo Soprani

brookmcl

Reaction score
This accordion was my late father-in-law's. My grandfather-in-law brought it over from Italy I believe in the 70s. My FIL was very particular about how he stored things, so I feel like this instrument is in great shape for its age and not getting any use for many years. It does need a tuning, but I just had my piano tuned so that will have to wait a couple months.

I feel like it is from the late 60s? I also am extremely new to the accordion, so what could you tell me about the instrument?

I started learning yesterday and have picked it up rather fast, but I'm coming from a background of a masters in piano performance and being a pipe organist in a church. It is fun that this instrument features aspects of those keyboards. I love my skinner organ I get to work on, but it's hard to bring that instrument home with you. I particularly enjoy being able to phrase like a vocalist with the bellows. Needless to say, I think I'm in love haha.

Thanks in advance!IMG_0213.jpg
IMG_0214.jpgIMG_0216.jpgIMG_0218.jpg

Attachments

• IMG_0214.jpg
    IMG_0214.jpg
    398.3 KB · Views: 2
Welcome Brook! Glad to hear you are enjoying it. I can’t tell you much except that it is a well respected brand and so probably pretty nice. Good luck!

Welcome,