• If you haven't done so already, please add a location to your profile. This helps when people are trying to assist you, suggest resources, etc. Thanks
  • We're having a little contest, running until 15th May. Please feel free to enter - see the thread in the "I Did That" section of the forum. Don't be shy, have a go!

Stage fright?

Status
Not open for further replies.
J

Jonska

I started playing accordion two years ago. Recently I started doing gigs with my band and solo too. I have a small list of songs I play and I practise them a lot. I noticed that I can play the song pretty well when playing alone in my home but when I'm at the front of any audience my play does not go so well. I can play the songs from the beginning to the end but I do some mistakes and small tumbling on the way. I tried to play songs alone kazillion time but still it is more difficult on the front of audience.

The funny thing is that I do not feel frightened at all. Because of my work I'm used to be at the front of very different kinds of audiences (but not with accordion). Still for some reason my playing suffers from people :roll:

Does anyone else have any similiar kind of experiences about stage fright? Do you have any advices or tricks how to avoid stage fright? :)

Hi Jonska,

I have the very same situation as you do. I rarely play to a large audience but even when playing to family I get the same reaction from my brain, namely it goes "OK" but I know I can play better.
I think is is something to do with you not having the same relaxed concentration you do at "home alone". On a stage, or even when playing to your auntie, some of your brain is not concentration on what you are doing.
I sometimes think it is my "look ahead" buffer that is suffering. You are so intent on making the notes that you are now sounding great that the necessary forward planning for moving onto the next notes is negatively influenced.