• If you haven't done so already, please add a location to your profile. This helps when people are trying to assist you, suggest resources, etc. Thanks
  • We're having a little contest, running until 15th May. Please feel free to enter - see the thread in the "I Did That" section of the forum. Don't be shy, have a go!

Piano Accordion Design! (O Boy!)

Richard

Reaction score
Hello accordion friends! I’m writing this post in hopes of gaining positive insightful thoughts regarding my/our beloved instrument. I’m aware I’m in dangerous territory as far as opinions, but my thoughts are without malice with the hope that some ideas can be gleaned for the good.
So here goes, thanking you all in advance for your sage input!
I’ve been playing since I was 10 yrs old and now at 86 offering my ideas/comments to possibly improve our beloved instrument!
1. Why do most accordions sound thin and some whiney (to my ears)? To me the answer is cost, inferior reeds, and low quality resonance box construction. I tried a friend’s 40’s Colombo and from the first note I tried, I asked to buy it! The strong mellow tone that ‘spoke’ wanted me to not put it down! Another instance was hearing the playing of a Cajun box with either 1 bassoon reed, or a clarinet reed, I don’t remember. The sound was so loud and mello that I thought it was amplified! So I wondered what can’t our piano accordions be made to that quality of sound? It seems that it can be done to produce such instruments with magnificent mello sound from my aforementionled experience. Does it take a concerted effort on the manufacturers part (R & D)? For any who would object, I’ve heard this wonderful sound, and wonder what it would take to make this wonderful quality of sound the Norm?