• If you haven't done so already, please add a location to your profile. This helps when people are trying to assist you, suggest resources, etc. Thanks
  • We're having a little contest, running until 15th May. Please feel free to enter - see the thread in the "I Did That" section of the forum. Don't be shy, have a go!

looking for lightweight piano accordion

rockie12us

Reaction score
Hi
Newbie here. I have been playing 120 bass piano accordion for years. My lower back doesn't like it anymore. The accordion is 20lbs.
It's 20 inches across the keys. I am 6' 4" 250lbs... so my fingers need wider keys. In my profile pic you can see my wife and I playing our accordions.

I play german polkas and Mexican music too.

I like the unisonic (same sound on push and pull) and was looking at a duet concertina... not sure I want to go that route if there are piano accordions that are lighter.

Ok, so what options are there for lighter piano accordions?
Thanks in advance for your time
Dean-O

Seriously,
You could explore the suitability of some simpler accordions: 2 or 3 voices , 12 to 48 bases.
When you look into it, it's truly amazing how much can actually be achieved with these instruments. After all, the Cambridge Buskers duo did very well with a 32 bass instrument!
See here:
Not only are they light to tote, they're also light on your pocket 🙂
For example, here's a 12 bass:
A 24 bass:
A 32 bass:
A 48 bass:
Another 48bass:
So many choices!🤔

Last edited:
Interesting question. 20lb is not heavy for a 41/120 accordion, and your instrument has 5 treble switches so it is likely a 3 voice instrument at most. Hmmm. :unsure:

Here are some ideas to consider.

Do you play standing up all the time?
Or, if you play sitting down, is the instrument hanging on you, way above your lap?
Have you considered how the straps are adjusted?
Do you need a back strap?
Sitting on couches and chairs with no or little support can cause injury. Maybe a good drummers throne is worth investing in?