• If you haven't done so already, please add a location to your profile. This helps when people are trying to assist you, suggest resources, etc. Thanks
  • We're having a little contest, running until 15th May. Please feel free to enter - see the thread in the "I Did That" section of the forum. Don't be shy, have a go!

Learning multiple instruments

Status
Not open for further replies.

Waldo

Site Supporter
Reaction score
I'd like input on the question, "Is it beneficial or detrimental to learn two (or more) instruments at the same time?"
I have a belief on the subject, but prefer to withhold it until others have rendered an opinion. I'll come back in later.
Press on, Waldo

I would say the only issue with multiple instruments is the limited number of hours you can spend on each. This is the main issue for me. I'm trying to learn the guitar, love my accordions and enjoy my piano and keyboard. Choices, choices.

I started playing the Erhu (a Chinese two-string instrument, also known as Chinese fiddle,) at the age of about 15. After playing it for about 3 or 4 years, I stopped it and had hardly touched any instruments at all. After over 30 years absence, I picked it up and have been playing it more seriously till now.

I came by an accordion over 10 years ago but I did not try to learn it, believing it should interfere with my erhu playing. I hear people say string instruments and keyboard instruments are so different that they would interfere each other.

But I at last took the accordion up about one year ago. During the time I was trying the accordion, there were times when I did not touch the erhu for one or two months. When I did take up the erhu, I realised I was playing the erhu BETTER. I feel I somehow have a better "feel" on the bow work and the playing is a bit better "expressive".