• If you haven't done so already, please add a location to your profile. This helps when people are trying to assist you, suggest resources, etc. Thanks
  • We're having a little contest, running until 15th May. Please feel free to enter - see the thread in the "I Did That" section of the forum. Don't be shy, have a go!

Free beginner music and resources?

Status
Not open for further replies.
C

Coke Daddy Nut

Ive been playing the accordion for a few months now and one of the most challenging things for me is finding music that is better suited for learning. The best free resource Ive found is this book: The Piano Accordion (1938)

If anyone has PDFs or links to learning resources and beginner/intermediate sheet music Id love to know about it! Thanks, all :D
(I like Romanian music, polka, nautical tunes, Irish folk, and pretty much any eastern European style, also rock if anyone can find any.)

Ive got a small amount of free accordion sheet music on my site that might work for you.

Duane Schnurr has a page of free accordion lessons. Each lesson features a scanned section of, I believe, the Sedlon accordion method books.

But really, I recommend just biting the bullet and paying for good material. The Palmer-Hughes books (including their recital books), for example, are not that expensive, are well-edited, and--more importantly--are organized in a nice, gentle learning progression.

JeffJetton said:
Duane Schnurr has a page of free accordion lessons. Each lesson features a scanned section of, I believe, the Sedlon accordion method books.
Sedlon is correct.. Duane has 94 individual downloads of free, progressively harder pieces/lessons with sheet music, spoken intro & the piece played by him in sound clips to each lesson - from raw beginner to (near) intermediate.

Edited add played by him for clarity.