• If you haven't done so already, please add a location to your profile. This helps when people are trying to assist you, suggest resources, etc. Thanks

Fr4x MIDI

davidplaysaccordion

Reaction score
I am trying to setup an pedal to send midi to my fr4x to switch voices although for testing I will be using an ipad app to send the midi.

I am trying (and failing) to understand this diagram in the 4x midi manual

1678837038652.png

Most of the rows seem to have the same msb and lsb (0,0) so how can the select different things?
I'm no dummy but none of this makes any sense.
Can you select individual voices via midi, eg an accordion and orchestra strings or do you have to setup the entire 'scene' in a upg and then select that.

I am far from an expert, but I do not think it is possible unless the pedall supports SYSEX commands. I could be wrong, but I do know that Larry here will know more than I do in this area. :)

I 'think' I have figured it out.

1678916364355.png
So even though the CC00 and CC32 values often look the same, the channel numbers define where they go to. I am using the default 4x channel settings other than the basic channel although this may change. My setup is 'complicated' and using CME WIDI devices with the bk7m as the central so everything will have to go from the foot pedal via the bk7m (so far) to the accordion. I am not sure how that is going to really work as I assume the bk7m is also listening on those instrument channels for midi (notes).