• If you haven't done so already, please add a location to your profile. This helps when people are trying to assist you, suggest resources, etc. Thanks
  • We're having a little contest, running until 15th May. Please feel free to enter - see the thread in the "I Did That" section of the forum. Don't be shy, have a go!

Daily exercises for CBA

Status
Not open for further replies.

Bobo

Reaction score
I'm wondering what daily exercises are the best use of time.
When I was a pianist I did at least an hour of scales, arpeggios and Hanon/Schmidt/etc. before even starting on repertoire.

I don't have that kind of time these days.

Right now I play major scales in all 12 keys using rows 1-3.
Then 2-octave arpeggios.
Then Palmer-Hughes Adventures in Bassland for LH warmup.

Then on to songs.

I know I should probably add minor scales and arpeggios.

Anything I'm missing that can help with muscle memory for the treble?

Using numbered music notation (Chevé notation, the scales from 1 to 7) for the melody line can improve muscle memory on the CBA.
It's key independent.

i'd say it depends where you want your playing to go and what you wish to achieve...
I've never been consistent with practicing scales...or anything for that matter...however i often think the most important practice for me would be the transition notes that lead well into the next chord as well as the target tone in the next chord...
i must practice more...

Although I play the Pa, not the CBA, I find it interesting to see what other people's daily practice looks like.

I usually practice scales for about 15 minutes. I then go over songs that I have memorized. Next, I will work on going through a tutor book lesson. Finally, I play whatever I feel like playing.

to me it is the same be it a continental chromatic, a piano box or indeed a british chromatic (diatonic) and probably any other instrument.