• If you haven't done so already, please add a location to your profile. This helps when people are trying to assist you, suggest resources, etc. Thanks
  • We're having a little contest, running until 15th May. Please feel free to enter - see the thread in the "I Did That" section of the forum. Don't be shy, have a go!

CBA Fingering (again), PA fingering conversion, and Balkan C system guidance

RowanSumner

Reaction score
Hello all. I'm new to the instrument and picked up a C system button accordion recently. I have been playing along with Palmer Hughes, Anzaghi and other basic texts, and really enjoying myself. I didn't quite realise how complicated the accordion world was before I bought my instrument, and got a C system because I had my heart set on chromatic, and C is what is available (affordably) in the UK.

I would love to learn some Balkan folk music, and have been playing around with a few songs lately, and enjoying myself. There are lots of scores with fingering for PA and B system for these tunes, but (as is now obvious to me) nothing for C system. Are there any rules or tips available to the budding CBA player for converting PA fingering guides?

I thought I would open this post up to experienced C system players, and just ask how you approach this song. Regarding bar 3, which is after the intro. When I first picked up the instrument, I went straight to row 4, and hit the C, D trill with fingers 2 and 3, as it seemed the clearest approach. Since reading a few texts it seems I should be hitting the C, D trill with fingers 4 and 5. How would you approach this song?

Any opinions would be appreciated!
P.S, I've tried to get a teacher, and they understandably have told me to get a bayan and call them back

Attachments

• ezgif-2-96e73d7374.jpeg
    ezgif-2-96e73d7374.jpeg
    91.5 KB · Views: 25