• If you haven't done so already, please add a location to your profile. This helps when people are trying to assist you, suggest resources, etc. Thanks
  • We're having a little contest, running until 15th May. Please feel free to enter - see the thread in the "I Did That" section of the forum. Don't be shy, have a go!

Bill here I am new to this and a old guy. Trying to keep my accordion skills up.

yup,lots of older people. That’s not a problem. I know many people in their eighties who start learning an instrument for the first time. Best thing is to be patient,try and find a good teacher and enjoy what you are learning. And please,ignore the incessant remarks that kids learn faster than adults. It’s apple and oranges and irrelevant.

yup,lots of older people. That’s not a problem. I know many people in their eighties who start learning an instrument for the first time. Best thing is to be patient,try and find a good teacher and enjoy what you are learning.

I’m one of those - a long time musician experienced with a variety of instruments, but I touched an accordion for the first time at 73.

yup,lots of older people.
I'm an older person, old enough to need cataract surgery, the first of which I had yesterday.
Today , the eye patch came off and...
...my left eye which was previously "uncorrectable" for years is now better than 6/6 and sharper than my right (even without glasses ).
...all print is a dark, saturated black.
...colours are much more saturated.
...the "dusty veil that hid the scene" has cleared.
All in 24 hours!
It's a miracle!😀

Last edited:
I'm an older person, old enough to need cataract surgery, the first of which I had yesterday.
Today , the eye patch came off and...
...my left eye which was previously "uncorrectable" for years is now better than 6/6 and sharper than my right (even without glasses ).
...all print is a dark, saturated black.
...colours are much more saturated.
...the "dusty veil that hid the scene" has cleared.
All in 24 hours!