• If you haven't done so already, please add a location to your profile. This helps when people are trying to assist you, suggest resources, etc. Thanks
  • We're having a little contest, running until 15th May. Please feel free to enter - see the thread in the "I Did That" section of the forum. Don't be shy, have a go!

The 5 Registers, how what etc please.

Status
Not open for further replies.

Markordion

Reaction score
Hi this is for some advice re using my sons new startone 72 Bass Accordion that has 5 registers please.

I expect its similar to many of the ones from the same place.

But his old Hohner only had two registers and hes only self taught.

We are not sure if you must use just one at a time or if you can use combinations of two together of the 5 on this one etc please.

As we don`t know he has just used one swtich at a time so far as he doesn`t want to do any damage.

Many thanks for any kind advice in advance.

I`m not musical, but I love Accordion music and myself I`m finding it very interesting finding out more about them too.

Thanks Mark.

Hi thank you we did think that, but saw a video and they clicked both the outer ones on a 3 register player.

There was no manual or instructions with the Accordion.

Maybe just left out or maybe they think you know ?

Anyway thank you, good to know. Mark.

As Scuromondo says, do not use more than one at any one time , as they act against each other!?
They act to direct air through different reeds according to a predetermined combination.

Last edited:
If the registers match this picture it will gives you all the common reed combinations for an LMM accordion. This means there are three total reed sets for the treble side, one being low and two being one octave higher than the low (medium). The dots indicate which reeds are being used when that register is selected. From left to right L, LM, LMM, MM, and M. This is a pretty versatile configuration.

Attachments

• C05407B0-22C1-4DE2-84AB-401E7C8D7AEC.png