• If you haven't done so already, please add a location to your profile. This helps when people are trying to assist you, suggest resources, etc. Thanks
  • We're having a little contest, running until 15th May. Please feel free to enter - see the thread in the "I Did That" section of the forum. Don't be shy, have a go!

Sticky keys--1930's Hohner with single spindle

Status
Not open for further replies.
N

nbrunner

I am brand new to the accordion--just picked up a 1930's Hohner "Carmen". I am cleaning it up a bit, and giving it enough of a tune-up to be enjoyable to play. Biggest issue is that I have a couple sticky keys. My accordion has a single brass spindle rod, which is only sticks out on the right side.

I have searched here and at Accordionrevival, and have seen some suggestions, but nothing that seems like an exact solution--my spindle does not slide out easily.

Are there any tricks to getting the spindle out? (I have seen a couple references to running electric current through it, but that seems pretty drastic)
Are there any other tricks to try to get the keys unstuck before moving on to more drastic attempts at removing the spindle?

I always use vice grip pliers to grab the spindle and with a twisting motion, back it out enough to be grabbed by a drill chuck and then spin it out. When replacing the spindle clean it with 000 steel wool, lube it with a lube such as WD-40 and spin it back in. AND NEVER HAMMER IT BACK IN !!! It's also unique that your Hohner has survived for 80+ years with only a sticking key problem. Good luck on your repair. :tup:

P.S. Where ever did you see a reference of running an electric current thru the spindle???

JIM D. said:
S. Where ever did you see a reference of running an electric current thru the spindle???

i remember reading this too - either on a post here (from a repairer i think) or accordion revival