• If you haven't done so already, please add a location to your profile. This helps when people are trying to assist you, suggest resources, etc. Thanks
  • We're having a little contest, running until 15th May. Please feel free to enter - see the thread in the "I Did That" section of the forum. Don't be shy, have a go!

Searching for Bass Buttons

Dennis Landi

Reaction score
Hello,
I am new to this accordion forum and would appreciate any help provided.
I recently acquired a Noble Starlet piano accordion with 41 keys and 120 bass buttons. Unfortunately, several of the (40) translucent bass buttons are broken with the remainder of these particular buttons being very fragile, due to the UV degradation of the plastic. As a result, I am actively looking to purchase similar translucent buttons in order to keep the accordion looking in its original condition. The button size is 6.75mm x 19.5mm with a 2.5mm diameter hole. Besides searching the internet, I have reached out to several accordion repair shops throughout the country with no luck thus far. If anyone can recommend a shop that might sell the same or similar button I would be very appreciative. At this point, color is not mandatory.
I have provided a photo of both the accordion and a specific button, showing the approximate size (6.75mm x 19.5mm measured with a caliper) and color.

Thanks in advance for your help!
Dennis Landi

Noble Starlet Accordion.pngNoble Starlet Button.png

caveatas..

pulling the old buttons off, many will crumble.. you need to angle things so the
debris does not fall into the works

second, you probably need to set a dollar amount you are willing to spend
on this project, because anything over $200 makes it a labor of love, as
you would be past the typical selling price for cute old 2 reed student accordions

third, chances are you are going to need to to disassemble the entire mechanism
as the bass linkage is somewhat fragile and easy to bend out of true.. working them with