• If you haven't done so already, please add a location to your profile. This helps when people are trying to assist you, suggest resources, etc. Thanks
  • We're having a little contest, running until 15th May. Please feel free to enter - see the thread in the "I Did That" section of the forum. Don't be shy, have a go!

Inherited my grandfather's Iorio & Sons accordion. Would like to learn more about it.

If it is a 4/5 accordion and Romanogli are quoting tuning every reed in it, I’d say $1200 is a fair price. However if, as others here have suggested, you only need tuning on the reeds that are far out of tune, then you might be able to request a spot-tuning just for those particular reeds, which should be somewhat less than $1200. Of course if even a third of the reeds need to be turned, or if the cost of spot-tuning is much more than half, I’d probably choose to have the tuning done in its entirety

Now, I am no pro, but just for checking, I don't inherently think using an electronic tuner is a bad thing... and not that it is important but I doubt 1% of us or less could detect a 2-5 cent difference. For educational purposes, NOT to really tune with, I'd not deter someone from trying. :)
I really, really, really disagree. A cent of difference between an M and H reed, and you get beatings which are easy to hear for unskilled listeners. If a reed is up 2 cents and its tremolo reed down 2 cents, and the next note the reed is down two cents and the tremolo up 2 cents, scales will sound so uneven that it hurts.