• If you haven't done so already, please add a location to your profile. This helps when people are trying to assist you, suggest resources, etc. Thanks
  • We're having a little contest, running until 15th May. Please feel free to enter - see the thread in the "I Did That" section of the forum. Don't be shy, have a go!

Hohner Arietta 1B 32 key 72 bass (lightweight) accordion

pow

Reaction score
Hello, if I have neglected to introduce myself, I am an older musician in Santa Monica, CA just starting out on accordion. The above is in nice condition and is 30 miles down the road from me in Long Beach. I can't transfer the pics of it at this time. It looks to be in very good condition. I know pics can be very misleading, but the pics are pretty high quality. They are on FB Marketplace. Any comments on this model, and what an acceptable amount of money would be to purchase it? I have read some positive reviews on Youtube. The female owner is asking $525, but she is willing to consider my offer. Thanks!

Welcome Pow! Hohner is a well respected brand, again, playability can be a function of build quality which varies greatly over the brand. This Arietta could be from the 1950s so what are we loooking for?

Thing is, this is a "32/72" which means it has less of a range than the "traditional" 41/120. This may or may not be an issue for you, depending on the music you intend to play. Many people buy these smaller accordions for "strolling" or "busking" due to reduced weight.

For an actual Arietta in immaculent condition, $525 seems a fair place to start your negotiations. Good luck!

Reactions: pow