• If you haven't done so already, please add a location to your profile. This helps when people are trying to assist you, suggest resources, etc. Thanks
  • We're having a little contest, running until 15th May. Please feel free to enter - see the thread in the "I Did That" section of the forum. Don't be shy, have a go!

B System Help

mhseeger73

Reaction score
What are some good method books for 3 row B system accordions? Right now, as I type, I have NO accordion knowledge! I know of "The Complete Accordion Method" book, but I have read that it is for C system and Piano accordions. If you can help me, I would appreciate it!

I wish I was more help: there are several books for C-system and for piano, but most of the books for B-system are in Russian, and most of the books for 3-row B system are very old (70s and before).

The good news, such as it is, is there isn't much text in the books - learning the chord and note names and a handful of words (like "scale" and "thumb") is enough to make a Russian book usable, even if you speak no Russian.

Sometimes you can find Youtubes of people playing the songs out of the C-system or piano books on a B-system instrument so you can get ideas for fingering. Somebody did all 10 books of Palmer-Hughes a while back that way. (But again, on 5 rows, and using the thumb rather than the old 3½-fingered Russian 3 row style.)

There are several of us lost souls self-teaching the B system in North America, and I am keeping notes on my trials and errors, with a view to someday putting out a B system method in English... but it's not within a year of being ready.

What are some good method books for 3 row B system accordions? Right now, as I type, I have NO accordion knowledge! I know of "The Complete Accordion Method" book, but I have read that it is for C system and Piano accordions. If you can help me, I would appreciate it!