• If you haven't done so already, please add a location to your profile. This helps when people are trying to assist you, suggest resources, etc. Thanks
  • We're having a little contest, running until 15th May. Please feel free to enter - see the thread in the "I Did That" section of the forum. Don't be shy, have a go!

Are chromatic button accordions faster than piano accordions?

Well, this is some background we have not had until now. Are you taking lessons, or just sitting in with a band?
We're in the New Hampshire Scottish Music Club. I've been playing semi-seriously for a little over a year, but only really started practicing daily and taking lessons a couple of months ago. I have a lot of piano experience, though, so my right hand is far better than my left, and my left is better than playing both together. I'm really not asking folks for guidance relative to learning speed - as you say, it seems all over the map.

Last edited:
If we get serious about accordions, and not just type random jokes about throwing them, then one can see several areas for accordion development.
1) Walker has already mentioned the technique - I agree it is vital for a good result, and if double straps are allowed, then a "hammer turn" must be one of the best ways to draw inspiration from, regardless of whether it's a PA, CBA or diatonic.
2) It's not just about weight, it is about the ballistic coefficient, which is calculated as:
BC=mass/(drag*cross-sectional area)
You will get better results if the squeezebox flies in a straighter line, and the mass per cross sectional area is maximised. Big yes to double-cassotto boxes and slick aerodynamic curved grilles like a Hohner Morino. Big no to the square Steirische boxes with random stuff sticking out of the casework, generating more drag. Concertinas are too light to go far, and bandoneons are probably the worst, as they are square and have a very large cross-section to weight ratio.