• If you haven't done so already, please add a location to your profile. This helps when people are trying to assist you, suggest resources, etc. Thanks
  • We're having a little contest, running until 15th May. Please feel free to enter - see the thread in the "I Did That" section of the forum. Don't be shy, have a go!

Antique Accordion Bass Repair

John G

Reaction score
Hi Everyone,

An antique accordion I received has issues in the bass mechanism. A few buttons get stuck and won’t release occasionally and when playing certain chords sometimes other buttons will gradually sink in. I have noticed the bottom row (circled in red) has levers not seated on rods as the rods are too far down. Is this potentially the issue and if so how might I fix it?

Thanks!

-John1CF5C168-16FB-4502-8DE7-3CD14C869C3E.jpeg

I am an accordion beginner and certainly not a repair person, however I’m studying and slowly learning to make some adjustments and minor repairs. For your problem I would watch the action for some chords that work and compare to those that don‘t to understand what‘s supposed to push what then try to see why some don’t. Maybe the instrument was dropped.

Maybe read this to start

The trouble-shooting guide here might be useful

and this article

and there may be some useful info here (maybe near the end of the article) depending on the problem

But if available in your area the services of an accordion repair person might be very helpful, at least to take a quick look and see if there’s an easy fix. A quick inspection might be all that’s needed. That’s what I did. The repair person could also look for other, perhaps, potential, problems.

Thanks! I have actually referred to those articles you linked. I can’t seem to find anything that has a good diagram of what the rod alignment should be in the bass mechanism, especially for the antique model that I have.