• If you haven't done so already, please add a location to your profile. This helps when people are trying to assist you, suggest resources, etc. Thanks
  • We're having a little contest, running until 15th May. Please feel free to enter - see the thread in the "I Did That" section of the forum. Don't be shy, have a go!

Advice for testing a used V Accordion

nikola

new bee
Reaction score
Hi folks!

I'm a newbie from Toronto, having started learning the accordion 8 months ago with no prior musical experience, its been an amazing journey so far :D. I started learning with a used FR-1X as practicing with headphones on was pretty crucial to not torture my apartment neighbours ๐Ÿ˜…, while also learning on my teacher's acoustic in his home studio to get a better understanding of the differences between acoustic and digital.

That said, I'm already hitting a point where the FR-1X keyboard is starting to feel limiting in what songs I can learn so I am starting to look into upgrades (ideally a 4X or 8X). There are a couple used ones I've seen at the Long & McQuade music shop in Toronto of both models, but I wanna make sure I know what to look out for to make sure that they are in good condition when testing them out in person!

Outside of testing general playability, bellows, and keys, are there any specific parts of either the FR-4X or FR-8X that should be checked over on a used accordion? Are there any obvious issues with the screen, batteries, or software that could be looked out for? Are there warranty concerns with buying used?

Any advice would be much appreciated, thank you!