• If you haven't done so already, please add a location to your profile. This helps when people are trying to assist you, suggest resources, etc. Thanks
  • We're having a little contest, running until 15th May. Please feel free to enter - see the thread in the "I Did That" section of the forum. Don't be shy, have a go!

what kind of accordion should i buy?

Status
Not open for further replies.
M

mariagmerlino

i'm a somewhat novice accordion player looking to get a new accordion.

i had a red weltmeister stella, 80 bass accordion before (had to sell it) and i liked it a lot. i think it may have needed some work done to it (i bought it used), though i never pursued that. i practiced on it for a little over a year. that's essentially what i was doing with it, just practicing by myself, having lots of fun

the size and weight were also good for me

my second time around id like to invest in an accordion that functions a little bit smoother, better for maybe one day playing with others. should i go for a new weltmeister or should i go with another brand? there are so many to choose from! help!

Finding one like the one you had sounds like a good idea.

Well, I can only say that the modern Weltmeisters are quite good, and I have a couple myself.

Apparently many of the accordions Weltmeister made back in the DDR days--including the Stellas--were a bit chintzy (lots of plastic parts, etc.), giving the brand a bad reputation among some people. I've never played any of the old ones myself. They do seem to show up on eBay a lot, so you could always get another one.

For a new accordion at a modest price level, really the only competition to the Welties would be the Hohner Bravo line. I have not been impressed with Hohnica line, or with any of the cheap Chinese boxes you see on Amazon, etc.

You could of course buy a used accordion, which really opens up the options quite a lot.

Is that Boston in Lincolnshire, or Boston Mass?