• If you haven't done so already, please add a location to your profile. This helps when people are trying to assist you, suggest resources, etc. Thanks

Western Swing Bass and Chord Transitions

P

philcann

Hello everyone!

I am new to the Accordionists Forum, and I am hoping someone can help me, as I have not been able to find the exact information I have been looking for through internet search or YouTube.

I play the Roland FR-18 Diatonic Accordion, which I am thoroughly enjoying. Not only versatile, but also programmable!

I do not read music, I only play by ear...

I am wanting to program my bass/chord keys in one of my tab sets for western swing music, and I have been looking for a BASIC Western Swing Bass and Chord chart. This could be in any key as the FR-18 automatically changes keys as requested with the flick of a button once programmed.

Would anyone be able to help? From what I can ascertain so far: bass G with chord G; B with chord G7; C with C, C# with A. But that is as much as I have been able to find. Is this right? I also know there is a lot missing.

Thank you for any help you can provide.

S

simonking

Can't help with the specifics of the Roland but also I can't be only one who doesn't understand the question here! Doesn't help that I have no idea what Western Swing is.

BobM

Site Supporter
Reaction score
simonking said:
Cant help with the specifics of the Roland but also I cant be only one who doesnt understand the question here! Doesnt help that I have no idea what Western Swing is.

I know what Western Swing is, and it sounds to me like youre trying to describe a turnaround chord sequence. It would be useful to have some audio examples, just to be sure.

BobM.

P

philcann

Thanks for your reply.

The following youtube site is where I have acquired some limited information:

donn

Prolific poster
Reaction score