• If you haven't done so already, please add a location to your profile. This helps when people are trying to assist you, suggest resources, etc. Thanks

Thumb-under technique on the accordion hurts

Status
Not open for further replies.

xocd

Reaction score
I studied piano for several years with a very technical teacher (Taubman Technique). I can play fast and legato scales on the piano without using the pedal. I am having a hard time translating this technque to the accordion because, I believe, the angle between the forearm and the keyboard is different on the two instruments. For example, when I play an ascending scale with the right hand on the piano my elbow is further to the right (towards the high notes) than my hand; the thumb can move under the palm and ahead of the fingers easily. On the accordion (unless one is playing the very lowest notes) I cannot obtain this angle (the elbow is higher than the hand.) The joint at the base of my thumb starts hurting when I try to use my piano technique. I end up "walking" the keyboard with my fingers (reminiscent of early keyboard technique, perhaps).

I wonder if this is purely an anatomical quirk of mine (natural lack of flexibility?) or perhaps the accordion technique is different. Is this something you have experienced? How do you play scales?

Thanks,

I think that you are just not used to it. There is a bit of a difference, but I don't recall having any unique problems there when I started (played piano for 13 years before the accordion). I doubt your anatomy is the issue - just keep working on it. The muscle memory for some reason is not exactly the same - for example if I have a song memorized enough to play it basically with muscle memory kicking in - that muscle memory does not translate to a piano, I have to think it through. But the thumb goes under fine on scales. Try just relaxing an do scales for a few minutes every day. I think it will work itself out.