• If you haven't done so already, please add a location to your profile. This helps when people are trying to assist you, suggest resources, etc. Thanks

Oh dear!

Alan

Reaction score
Hi all, and thank you for letting me join
I am totally new to the accordion, and have purchased a 26 key 48 bass model to start with and think I have made a grave mistake due to the amount of treble keys.
Will this be very restrictive going forward
Thanks

debra

Been here for ages!
Technical Adviser
Site Supporter
Reaction score
When you start looking for sheet music you may find that a lot of it assumes you have more than 26 keys. Accordions with 34 or 37 keys will get you a lot further.
But more important than the number of keys is a good fit. if you want to feel comfortable playing the accordion the instrument must be a good fit for your body.

saundersbp

Reaction score
You can make a lot of great music on a smaller accordion. I started with a tiny free bass instrument before getting a big instrument. The person pressing the keys is always more important than the instrument.

JeffJetton

Reaction score
It all depends on the sort of music you want to play, and how you intend to go about learning it.

For folk/trad, for example, you should be okay. There might be a few keys you won't be able to easily play in on the lefthand side, and you might need to adjust certain passages up or down an octave in the right hand, but overall you'll be able to go pretty far with a 48-bass model.

If you're intending to play classical or jazz, you'll bump up against a wall eventually. But for now, the main thing is to learn the basics, and it's perfectly fine for that. Heck, in the olds days people often started out with even smaller/more-limited models than that!