• If you haven't done so already, please add a location to your profile. This helps when people are trying to assist you, suggest resources, etc. Thanks

New Accordionist

Status
Not open for further replies.

Jeremyh

Reaction score
I just thought I would check in.

I have played the mandolin for a while but picked up an accordion in October to see if I get on with it. Mandolinists all have volume envy when it comes to accordions. The accordion is a Frisco 120 bass, I am not sure how old but the styling looks sixties.

I am enjoying it quite a lot at the moment, just being able to sustain a note is a bonus, never mind the left hand. Currently I am learning from the Liberty Bellows site and Karen Tweed's Absolute Beginners book. Karen's book suits me particularly well for now as I play a lot of UK folk and that's what the tunes in there are, so I know a lot of them already.

One other thing that helps is that our community band has a Monday Whatsapp meetup where we post ourselves playing tunes, this provides an incentive to progress (and means you can have lots of goes recording the tune):)

I just thought I would check in.

I have played the mandolin for a while but picked up an accordion in October to see if I get on with it. Mandolinists all have volume envy when it comes to accordions. The accordion is a Frisco 120 bass, I am not sure how old but the styling looks sixties.

I am enjoying it quite a lot at the moment, just being able to sustain a note is a bonus, never mind the left hand. Currently I am learning from the Liberty Bellows site and Karen Tweed's Absolute Beginners book. Karen's book suits me particularly well for now as I play a lot of UK folk and that's what the tunes in there are, so I know a lot of them already.

One other thing that helps is that our community band has a Monday Whatsapp meetup where we post ourselves playing tunes, this provides an incentive to progress (and means you can have lots of goes recording the tune):)