• If you haven't done so already, please add a location to your profile. This helps when people are trying to assist you, suggest resources, etc. Thanks
  • We're having a little contest, running until 15th May. Please feel free to enter - see the thread in the "I Did That" section of the forum. Don't be shy, have a go!

My second arrangement on the 12 bass..

Status
Not open for further replies.
Q

QuaverRest

Here is my second arrangement on my new 12 bass :)

As you can see, Im still finding my feet :p but Im having fun!

Maybe it is easier to let the bellows fall naturally downwards when pulling insted of pulling straight out. Like he explains from 5:41 in this video Just a tip, Im no expert myself.

On that subject, I've been getting quite sharp pains around the ligaments at the base of the 1st metacarpal on my left wrist, near the 'anatomical snuff box'. I must be using incorrect technique. I'll start by doing as you suggest, and see if it clears up :)

*edit - watching that back I can see I'm supporting all of the weight by not allowing it to drop naturally, no wonder my wrist was hurting!! Thanks again!!

Good job!
Couple of things to go with barkis on placement.

Looks like you could do with shifting the accordion left more. The keyboard needs to be closer to under your chin. (think of it as a tie)
Try to keep your right wrist a little straighter with your right elbow out a little farther.
As to the wrist hurting, it may be that you do not have your hand in far enough. When I play my wrist is clear in and the pad of my palm is almost at the top edge of the box.
Make sure the strap is tight.
Remember that for the outward motion of the bellows to let gravity do most of the work. To go along with that when you play sitting make sure you are not supporting the bass side with any part of your body. (it should fall naturally to the floor without your hand in the strap)

HTH
Ben