• If you haven't done so already, please add a location to your profile. This helps when people are trying to assist you, suggest resources, etc. Thanks
  • We're having a little contest, running until 15th May. Please feel free to enter - see the thread in the "I Did That" section of the forum. Don't be shy, have a go!

LMMM vs LMMH

Status
Not open for further replies.

esteeny

Reaction score
Hello, All--

My first post here but I lurk a lot :)

I'm about to order a Bugari Artist Cassotto, 37/96 PA.  I'm trying to decide between LMMM and LMMH.  

I've been playing seriously for a few years (before that I was a pianist/keyboardist.)  I'm a musical omnivore--exploring Celtic, Cajun, French, Italian, American R&R, Jazz, Latin, and Balkan. 

I think I'm going with LMMM.  I think I understand that I'll be happiest with the musette if I go that route, and musette is very important to me,  but am I going to miss the H?  Will my diminished options with no piccolo reed bum me out when I play jazz?  I am no jazz purist, and don't play amongst jazz purists...but I do like the sound of bassoon and piccolo together for standards. I guess I can't have it all.....

You'll miss the H more than you'll miss the exrra M... Thats my call anyway
Too many MMMs can get too wide and messy if playing 'jazzier' chords with right hand
If you were to go LMMH then all stops out would be as close as you could get to Jimmy Smiths classic Hammond Organ stops setting.. 
Just my thoughts but hope that helps...

Might be worth asking to buy an extra set of reeds blocks and thus keep all options open.
Just a thought.