• If you haven't done so already, please add a location to your profile. This helps when people are trying to assist you, suggest resources, etc. Thanks

Hello All

Hi David, from a namesake! What's your interest in folk music? I'm currently involved (with others) in playing Welsh folk dances for a traditional dance group, which is a lot of fun, and a challenge for a mediocre player like me :). David A

Welcome David!

Welcome David,

Folk music is a fascinating subject, however there are many aspects to be considered so please explain yourself by explaining your personal interests. Which flavour of folk music are you interested in? Where are you in your musical life? Are you an advanced player or just starting? This should be a great topic.

Thank you all for your welcome and comments I'd describe myself as an intermediate player - self taught - good enough to entertain people but certainly not advanced. I have played in a 3 piece local barn dance band but that folded when we lost one of the members a coupe of years back.
I play (and dance) for East Surrey Morris Men, am chair of Dorking Folk Club and present a monthly folk show on Surrey Hills Community Radio.

I'm particularly (but not exlusively) keen on English traditional music - not least as there is a real body of outstanding music and song, but often overshadowed by Irish, Scottish and Welsh music where folk (and particularly the media) seem to value their heritage more.

Thank you all for your welcome and comments I'd describe myself as an intermediate player - self taught - good enough to entertain people but certainly not advanced. I have played in a 3 piece local barn dance band but that folded when we lost one of the members a coupe of years back.
I play (and dance) for East Surrey Morris Men, am chair of Dorking Folk Club and present a monthly folk show on Surrey Hills Community Radio.