• If you haven't done so already, please add a location to your profile. This helps when people are trying to assist you, suggest resources, etc. Thanks

Greetings from Boston!

Muser

Reaction score
Learning to play accordion after 60! I have studied and played jazz trumpet my whole life -- some professionally but mostly as an avocation. After leaving my day job and completing my EdD last year (2020) I started playing accordion. I'm practicing many hours a day and loving it - scales, voice leading/comping patterns, classical, jazz, traditional, and klezmer. My dream is to sit on a bench in Boston Common on the cooler summer days and entertain the passersby. I just upgraded to a new Beltuna Prestige IV - delighted with it. Any tips on accordion technique are welcome. Cheers!

Dingo40

Prolific poster
Reaction score
Welcome Muser!🙂
Beltuna Prestige iv: there are several variants (number of keys/bases, voices and tuning options). Which one is yours?

dunlustin

Prolific poster
Site Supporter
Reaction score
A very worthwhile dream and you clearly have the plan to get you there.
60! - a mere stripling.

Scuromondo

Reaction score
Learning to play accordion after 60! I have studied and played jazz trumpet my whole life -- some professionally but mostly as an avocation. After leaving my day job and completing my EdD last year (2020) I started playing accordion. I'm practicing many hours a day and loving it - scales, voice leading/comping patterns, classical, jazz, traditional, and klezmer. My dream is to sit on a bench in Boston Common on the cooler summer days and entertain the passersby. I just upgraded to a new Beltuna Prestige IV - delighted with it. Any tips on accordion technique are welcome. Cheers!
Welcome!