• If you haven't done so already, please add a location to your profile. This helps when people are trying to assist you, suggest resources, etc. Thanks
  • We're having a little contest, running until 15th May. Please feel free to enter - see the thread in the "I Did That" section of the forum. Don't be shy, have a go!

Diatonic 3 row accordion bass buttons limitations ?

Status
Not open for further replies.

gerardo1000

Reaction score
I am a beginner and I am tempted to buy a 3 row button diatonic accordion of decent quality (I briefly had for 1 day a new Panther that I returned because of an issue with some bass notes on the left hand side that were not responsive when closing the bellows). I am not, however, into the typical Norteno Tejano etc... music, I would play easy classic, French (like the "Amelie" movie waltzers) some pop, some Italian folk, some easy jazz. Playing the melody with my right hand and accompaniment with the left hand. I am 70 with some back issues therefore I am attracted by the light weight and the small size of a diatonic. However, as far as I understand, the 3 row diatonic's 12 bass buttons only offer two mior chords when pushing and two minor chords when pulling the bellows, a total of four. And I wonder if this could be a limitation, even if I traspose the music and I adapt it to the accordion tuning? A possible alternative could be a 26 keys piano accordion with 48 bass, they are still reasonably light and compact, and offer quite a wide range of bass notes and bass chords, including minor and 7 chords. In summary, I am undecided between a Hohner Corona or a Hohner Bravo 48, or similar. I'd appreciate your opinions, thanks.

Hi Gerardo,

It's not so much a question of limitations of the diatonic as it is, unfortunately, one of personal choice.

There are those that find great joy in playing a diatonic accordion, despite the limitations of the number of available keys and sonic range.