• If you haven't done so already, please add a location to your profile. This helps when people are trying to assist you, suggest resources, etc. Thanks
  • We're having a little contest, running until 15th May. Please feel free to enter - see the thread in the "I Did That" section of the forum. Don't be shy, have a go!

Best instrument to play folk music?

Status
Not open for further replies.
I

Inflammo

I'm a newbie to this forum and looking for some pointers on investing in a new instrument. I play occasionally with a ceilidh band and go to sessions. My current box is a Jonelli 96 bass 4 voice musette tuned but am liking the sound made by the likes of Jamie Smith from Mabon and the wonderful Karen Tweed..

Questions- are these 'straight tuned'? Should I be going for something smaller like a 96 bass? Any particular makes that follkies favour? And where do I go to find one as there's nothing in South Wales and I'm nervous of going down the eBay/gumtree path.

a couple of things to consider maybe:

- simple folk tunes don't need a large instrument so I would say 72 bass (or even smaller, but it's a trade off between portability and available basses), but that's my personal preference, I play standing up a lot and the small size helps

- by straight tuned you mean MM or M? most accordions have this so it's hard to go wrong there

that said, I know several players who go to 72, play that for a period and then go back to 96

so I say first have a go with your Jonelli you will eventually notice its drawbacks (if any) then try out something else

Best is entirely a personal perspective. At the weekend I saw Becky Price and Nigel Eaton play an 80 minute set at a French folk dance in Kent. Becky Price plays a 120 bass Hohner

Many very good Morris players play a 48 bass. For most folky tunes a 26/48 is perfectly fine, but a 30/72 or 60 bass will give greater range and flexibility with out a huge increase in weight and or size.